University of Iowa Department of Geography Jessup Hall, Room 316 Iowa City, IA 52245

Steve Nicholson, Superintendent NEW HAMPTON Community School District 710 West Main Street New Hampton, IA 50659

Re: Director District Boundary Verification Project: NEW HAMPTON

Dear Steve Nicholson,

For your information, your district's 2010 Census population is 6937. Your district has 2 director districts, each having approximately 3468 persons. Attached is a map of the director districts within your district that conform to all requirements as dictated by the Iowa Secretary of State. The following is the 2010 Census population of each district:

Director District 1: 3579Director District 2: 3358

Please note that immediate attention to this letter is in your district's best interest. The purpose of the project is to use 2010 Census population to verify that each of Iowa's 351 school districts conform to state law, to adjust Director District boundaries when appropriate and to prepare the paperwork required by the Iowa Secretary of State. The school board must pass a resolution adopting a redistricting plan before submitting the required plan materials to the Secretary of State's Office. The deadline for submitting this information to the Secretary of State's office is **May 15, 2012**.

Since your school district has director districts, you are required to submit the following documents to the Iowa Secretary of State:

- The attached worksheet.
- The adopted Board resolution indicating this plan has been adopted
  - Note: For districts that currently conform, you will need to submit a resolution indicating
    that your Board has adopted these boundaries. If your district does not have that
    resolution, your board will have to pass a new resolution adopting those boundaries.
- The attached map
  - Note: For districts that currently conform to state law, you can find a map of your
    director districts on the <u>Secretary of State's Director District maps website</u> but will not
    need to submit this map),

You can submit these documents electronically on the <u>Iowa Secretary of State's website</u>. The documents may also be mailed to the following address:

Iowa Secretary of State's Office Redistricting – Elections Division Lucas Building, First Floor 321 E. 12<sup>th</sup> Street Des Moines, IA 50319

Please review these documents at your earliest convenience. If you have any questions about the documents, or if any of this information is in error, please contact me as soon as possible. The AEA/University of Iowa Geography Department will provide all of the information you need except for the resolution. You are advised to contact your legal counsel for the resolution.

Thank you for your participation in this project. Kevin Matthews Kevin-matthews@uiowa.edu

CC: Tim Grieves, Chief Administrator, Northwest Area Education Agency Gerard Rushton, Professor, University of Iowa Department of Geography Jay Pennington, Chief, Bureau of Information and Analysis, Iowa Department of Education Mary Mosima, Deputy of Elections, Office of the Iowa Secretary of State