Board Proceedings

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in regular session, Monday, January 20, 2025, in the High School Media Center. President Matthews called the meeting to order at 4:00pm with Directors Matthews, Denner, A. Schwickerath, N. Schwickerath, High School Principal Matthew Manson, and Board Secretary Roethler present.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to approve the agenda. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, Denner, A. Schwickerath and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to approve the consent agenda. Approve minutes of December 16, 2025, regular session. Approve the December monthly financial report and the January 2025 bill listing. Approve the following resignation from Nikki Vossberg (Preschool Teacher). Approve the following recommendations: Jamie Wickham to Title I/Reading Instructor for the 2025-2026 school year. Summer Knight for 8th grade ELA teacher for the 2025-2026 school year. Cari Laures as JV Softball Coach for the 2024-2025 season and Middle School Track Coach for the 2025-2026 school year. Tyler Underwood as volunteer wrestling coach. All new hires are pending obtaining suitable licensure and passing appropriate background checks. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, Denner, A. Schwickerath and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to approve the resignation of School Board Member Bob Ayers and begin the process of moving forward with the intent to appoint someone to finish out the term through November 2025. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, Denner, A. Schwickerath and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to approve the early notification incentive applicants. Scott Frerichs (High School Math Teacher), Dennis Pagel (4th Grade Teacher), John Bear (Maintenance Director) and Sue Bouska (HR Administrative Assistance). Director N Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: A. Schwickerath, Matthews, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Discussion was brought up on the request to change the Senior Citizen Activity Pass Procedure. No action was taken.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to appoint Director Denner to the Chickasaw County Conference Board. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

The next regular board meeting will be February 17, 2025, at 6:30 pm.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to recess till 4:50 pm. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to closed session Per Iowa Code Chapter 21.5(l)(i) a school board may enter closed session "To evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when closed session is necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session." Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Roll Call Vote: Matthews – Yes, A. Schwickerath – Yes, N. Schwickerath – Yes and Denner – Yes. The Board entered the closed session at $4:51\,\mathrm{pm}$.

Director Denner moved to come out of closed session at 8:19pm. Director N. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Roll Call Vote: Matthews – Yes, A. Schwickerath – Yes, N. Schwickerath – Yes and Denner – Yes.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to adjourn at 8:19pm. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Monthly Bills January 2025 General Fund (10)

Vendor Name	<u>Amount</u>	Vendor Name	<u>Amount</u>
AFLAC	90.27	Marco, Inc.	190.82
Ag Vantage FS	1,488.57	Medical Enterprises Inc.	1,036.00
Amazon Capital Services	5,629.64	Mercy Medical Center-New Hampton	166.00
Auto Value Parts Stores	175.49	Mick Gage Plumbing	400.00
Casey's Business Account	220.00	Midwest Group Benefits, Inc.	412.00
Charles City Comm School	255.00	MITKO Specialty Sales & Service	1,770.13
Chemsearch	1,309.95	New Hampton Auto Body	1,335.20
Chickasaw Wellness Complex	300.00	New Hampton Electric	2,341.38
Circle K Communications	900.00	New Hampton Tribune	198.53
City Laundering Co.	1,510.27	New Horizons-Chamber-Commerce	200.00
City of New Hampton	11,691.77	NHMU Fiber	310.00
Control Installations of Iowa	1,846.50	Northeast Iowa Community College Business and	27,187.78
Counseling & Family Centered Services, Inc.	8,160.00	Community Solutions	
Crystal Ball Roller Rink	1,015.00	Office World	1,557.38
Dollar General Charged Sales	61.30	Orkin	80.00
Doors Inc.	132.00	Pitney Bowes Inc	422.58
E Group, Inc, The	103.00	Polk's Lock Service	363.20

EMS Detergent Services	582.02	Postmaster			350.00		
Fareway	965.96	Principal Life Insurance Company			784.34		
Five Star Cooperative	3,128.98	Quadient Inc.			203.82		
FM Controls, Inc.	67.50	Riceville Community Schools			41,812.60		
Frisbey, Angela	837.00	Rieman Music, Inc		809.91			
Fritcher, Katie	1,064.00	Riley's Inc.		229.90			
Glenn, Jill	124.00	Schueth Ace Hardware		904.05			
Grafton School, Incorporated	1,192.34	Scott, Tanya			1,280.00		
Grainger	1,028.64	Scrubber City Inc.			255.60		
Hanson Tire Service	3,530.75	South Winneshiek Comm. School			4,181.26		
Hartman Publishing	373.72	St. Joseph's School			30,826.31		
Hawkeye Alarm & Signal Co	1,671.30	Staples			3,039.20		
Heartland AEA 11	148.00	Sumner-Fredericksburg Community School District			25,087.56		
Heggerty	178.00	Superior Welding Supply			506.30		
Home Invasion Pest Control	140.00	Teacher Innovations			54.00		
Howard Winneshiek Comm School	8,362.52	Telecom Services of Iowa			300.00		
Iowa Assoc. of School Boards	1,335.00	thyssenkrupp Elevator Corporation			181.05		
Iowa Department of Human Services	22,266.66	Timberline Billing Service LLC		3,062.60			
IXL Learning	2,850.00	Tripoli Community School District		8,362.52			
Jendro Sanitation Services Inc	1,641.00	United Parcel Service		24.57			
Jerry Tank Masonry	1,870.00	Vern Laures Chev-Buick		2,871.37			
John Deere Financial	49.39	VISA		(1,185.57)			
Keystone AEA Dubuque	170.00	Wagoner Bros. Repair		5,643.87			
Keystone Area Education	2,828.00	Walmart.com		87.96			
Kwik Star	642.22	Washington National Ins. Co.		800.10			
L & R Manufacturing, LLC	109.43	Weber Paper Company - Division of Sanitary	of Capital		948.31		
Laures, June	16.00	WEX BANK			457.87		
LS Supply & Rental	273.80	Windstream			1,889.51		
Madison National Life Insurance	2,296.38						
			Fund Total:	\$	266,371.38		
Capital Projects	(33)	Physical Plant & Equipment			(36)		
Chickasaw Wellness Complex	1,000.00	Interstate Power Systems			1,274.38		
Geerts Plumbing & Heating	693.00	Marco, Inc.			1,939.05		
Northern Cedar Service	686.50	Premier Furniture & Equipment			6,382.75		
Plunket Raysich Architects, LLP	8,505.00	Wagoner Bros. Repair			3,081.94		
Premier Furniture & Equipment	7,860.20	-	Fund Total:	\$	12,678.12		
Fund Total:	\$ 18,744.70	Debt Service			(40)		
Tunu Total.	Ψ 10,744.70	UMB Bank, N.A.			600.00		
A			Fund Total:	\$	600.00		

Attest: January 20, 2025

Jay Matthews Board President Christy Roethler Board Secretary