## **Board Proceedings**

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in regular session, Monday, March 11, 2013 in the High School Media Center. President Rasmussen called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm with directors Rosonke, Denner, Baltes, Ewert, Superintendent Jurrens, and Board Secretary Ayers present.

Director Rosonke moved to approve the agenda. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Baltes, Ewert, Denner, Rosonke, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to approve the consent agenda items: the minutes of the February 11, 2013 regular session, February 25, 2013 Special Session and the February 25, 2013 work session. Approve the February 2013 monthly financial report and the March 2013 bill listing. Accept the resignations of Jade Fey (JJV Softball) and Danielle Wolf (Middle School 8<sup>th</sup> grade teacher). Jamie Quass as the head Boy's and Girl's Cross Country Coach and Cody Iverson as an intern from Wartburg College (he will assist with the weightlifting sessions during track season. Director Baltes seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Rosonke, Baltes, Denner, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to approve the second reading board policies 503.3 (Fines - Fees – Charges), 503.3E1 (Standard Fee Waiver Application), 503.3R1 (Student Fee Waiver and Reduction Procedures), 503.4 (Good Conduct Rule), 503.5 (Corporal Punishment), 504 (Student Activities), 504.1 (Student Government), 504.2 (Student Organizations), 504.3 (Student Publications), 504.3R1 (Student Publications Code), 504.4 (Student Social Events), 504.5 (Student Performances), 504.6 (Student Fund Raising), 504.7 (Student Activity Program), 505 (Student Scholastic Achievement), 505.1 (Assignment of Courses), 505.2 (Student Progress Reports and Conferences), and 505.3 (Student Promotion - Retention – Acceleration). Director Baltes seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Rosonke, Baltes, Denner, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Rosonke moved to approve the first reading of board policies 505.4 (Student Honors and Awards), 505.5 (Testing Program), 505.6 (Graduation Requirements), 505.7 (Early Graduation), 505.8 (Commencement), 505.9 (Parental Involvement), 506 (Student Records), 506.1 (Student Records Access), 506.1E1 (Student Records Checklist), 506.1E2 (Request of Nonparent for Examination or Copies of Student Records), 506.1E3 (Authorization for Release of Student Records), 506.1E4 (Request for Hearing on Correction of Student Records), 506.1E5 (Request for Examination of Student Records), 506.1E6 (Notification of Transfer of Student Records), 506.1E7 (Letter to Parent Regarding Receipt of a Subpoena), 506.1E8 (Juvenile Justice Agency Information Sharing Agreement), 506.1E9 (Annual Notice), 506.1E10 (Annual Notice (Spanish Version), and 506.1R1 (Use of Student Records Regulation). Director Ewert seconded the motion. Ayes: Baltes, Denner, Ewert, Rosonke, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Baltes moved to set the public hearing to amend the 2012 – 2013 budget. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Rosonke, Ewert, Denner, Baltes, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Baltes moved to approve the certified staff contracts for 2013 – 2014 school year. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Rosonke, Ewert, Denner, Baltes, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Baltes moved to adopt the following resolution: **RESOLVED** that the Board of Directors of New Hampton Community School District will levy property tax for fiscal year 2013-2014 for the regular program budget adjustment as allowed under section 257.14, Code of Iowa. Director Rosonke seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Denner, Rosonke, Baltes, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to approve the student teaching agreement with Wartburg to host their students in our district for field experiences and student teaching and approve an agreement with Mercy Medical Center to take and dispose of our medical waste materials. Director Rosonke seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Baltes, Rosonke, Denner, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Rosonke moved to approve the amended Tobacco policy. Director Ewert seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, Baltes, Ewert, Rosonke, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

## Monthly Bills March 2013

## General Fund (10)

Vendor Name	Amount	Vendor Name	Amount
Advanced Systems	462.55	Mick Gage Plumbing	405.00
AERUS	1,008.00	Mohawk Electric	221.00
Ag-Land Implement, Inc.	137.67	Nashua-Plainfield Comm School	2,941.50
Amazon	4,542.56	New Hampton Auto Body	135.00
Apperson	159.00	New Hampton Electric	170.00
Apple Computer Inc.	3,132.95	New Hampton Tribune	307.75
Area Education Agency 267	66.00	Nolte, Cornman & Johnson	3,000.00
Auditor of State	625.00	Northeast Iowa Comm. College	1,125.00
B.R. Sports, LTD	782.00	Northeast Iowa Comm. College	7,050.00
Black Hills Energy	4,670.50	Northern Cedar Service	400.75
Black Hills Energy	5,823.83	Office World	2,103.60
C. H. McGuiness Company	462.00	Ortiz, Maria	30.00
Carnegie Learning	77.19	Plank Road Publishing	203.69
CARQUEST OF NEW HAMPTON	8.27	Riceville Community Schools	2,941.50
Cedar Rapids Community Schools	1,941.00	Ricoh USA, INC	731.74
Charles City Comm School	5,147.63	Rieman Music	76.50
Chickasaw Chassis	150.00	Riley's Inc.	169.88
Chickasaw Wellness Complex	500.00	Russ, James	60.00
Circle K Communications	89.25	School Bus Sales	360.00
City of New Hampton	8,263.56	School Specialty	1.44
Decorah Community School District	8,480.00	School Specialty	44.18
Denver Community School	1,470.75	School Specialty	110.80
Digital River Education Services	98.45	School Specialty	404.95
Dollar General Charged Sales	35.30	Schueth Ace Hardware	274.58
Fareway	148.94	Schueth, Doug	112.50
Five Star Cooperative	47.12	Seabury & Smith	1,085.03
Follett Library Resources	5,337.84	South Winneshiek Comm. School	1,470.75
Follett Library Resources	362.42	Spectrum Network	286.70
Fredericksburg Comm. Schools	7,353.75	Stanton Electric	615.44
Geerts Plumbing & Heating	1,200.97	Steve Smith Snow Removal	5,395.00
Gumdrop	442.76	Subway	25.00
Haddock Corporation	158.00	Sumner Community Schools	2,941.50
Hanson Tire Service	1,427.87	Superior Lumber, Inc.	376.15
Hawkeye Fire and Safety Company	56.00	Superior Welding Supply	81.00
Herff Jones, Inc.	422.60	Swisher & Cohrt, P.L.C.	280.50
Hoglund Bus Company	16.04	Timberline Billing Service LLC	430.14
Houghton Mifflin Company	902.61	Tripoli Community School District	1,470.75
Howard Winneshiek Comm School	7,353.75	Turkey Valley Community School	3,111.12
Iowa Division of Criminal; Investigation	200.00	Turkey Valley Community School	7,059.48
Iowa Assoc. of School Boards	300.00	United States Cellular	71.50
Jendro Sanitation Services Inc	726.00	Vern Laures Chev-Buick	186.01
John Deere Financial	99.98	Vernier Software	11,507.85
K & W Motors	3,635.73	Visa	29.89
Kepharts Music Center	399.24	Wagoner Bros. Repair	1,987.30
Keystone Area Education	200.00	Washburn Laundry & Drycleaining Equipment	405.40
Kwik Star	11,607.69	Weikert Service Center/RW Sound	2,300.00
Kwik Star	3,383.60	WEX BANK	251.92
L & R Manufacturing, LLC	8.75	Windstream	740.99
MARCO	173.89	Youth Frontiers, Inc.	750.00
MARCO	83.43	Fund Totals	400 400 00

Fund Total: 160,423.22

Management Fund	(22)	Capital Projects	(33)
Vendor Name	<u>Amount</u>	Vendor Name	<u>Amount</u>
Iowa Workforce Development	1,414.45	Apple Computer Inc.	15,267.00
		Heartland Technology Solutions	4,207.50
		MNJ Technologies Direct, INC.	2,198.96
Fund Total	1,414.45	Fund Total	21,673.46

Attest: March 11, 2013

Tom Rasmussen Bob Ayers
Board President Board Secretary