Board Proceedings

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in regular session, Monday, May 16, 2022, in the High School Media Center. President Matthews called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm with Directors A. Schwickerath, Ayers, N. Schwickerath, Denner, Superintendent Jurrens and Board Secretary Roethler present.

Director Denner moved to approve the agenda. Ayers seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, Ayers and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to open the public hearing on the New Hampton Community School District 2021-2022 School Budget Amendment. Director Ayers seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, Ayers and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none. There were no written or oral comments.

Director A. Schwickerath moved to close the public hearing on the 2021-2022 budget amendment. Director N. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, Ayers and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

President Matthews closed the public hearing for the New Hampton Community School District 2021-2022 School Budget amendment. Director N. Schwickerath moved to approve the New Hampton Community School District 2021-2022 School Budget amendment as presented. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, Ayers and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to approve the consent agenda items, minutes of the April 18, 2022, regular session. Approve the April monthly financial report and the May 2022 bill listing. Accept the resignations of Bob Kramer (Middle School Custodian), Brittany Knipper (Elementary Special Education Teacher). The approval of Jeannie Pfaffle to transfer to 7th Grade Language Arts. The hiring of Laura Roberts (High School English), Nikkole Vossberg (4yr Old Preschool), Jacob Niichel (1st Grade Teacher) and Emily Brinks (Elementary Special Education). The approval of the following volunteer coaches; Ryan Anderson (Baseball), Megan Frerichs (Softball), Tara Pesek, Jade Fye, Cassie Hackman, Laura Schwickerath and Kerigan Tenge (Volleyball). Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, Ayers, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens presented information on the bowling league. After discussion, Director Ayers moved to approve the start of a bowling league as an extra-curricular activity within the school district beginning the 2022-2023 school year. Director N. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, Ayers, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens presented an update on the Northeast Iowa Conference. Director Ayers made a motion to decline the invitation to the Upper Iowa Conference and stay status quo for one year in hopes of maintaining the Northeast Iowa Conference. Director Denner seconded the motion. motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, Ayers, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director N. Schwickerath left the meeting at 7:28pm

Ag Instructor James Russ presented information on the Bob Svec Memorial Ride on June 12, 2022. Director Denner moved to approve the memorial ride. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, and Ayers. Nays: none.

Curriculum Director Karen Kayser-Kemp presented information on the science curriculum regarding textbooks and materials for K-12. Director Ayers moved to approve the purchases for the science curriculum as presented. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, and Ayers. Nays: none.

High School Principal Matt Manson presented information on the CTE Carrere and Academic Plan. Director Denner moved to approve the CTE Career and Academic Plan. Director Ayers seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, and Ayers. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens presented information on allowing Emily Hemesath in the superintendent's office access to the online bank accounts, payroll, and payment information. Director Denner moved to approve the electronic bank access. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, and Ayers. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens recommended a 3% increase on the base salary for the Principals, School Business Official, and technology director for the 2022-2023 school year. He also recommended a total package increase of 3% for the food service director, maintenance director and the two administrative assistants in the superintendent's office. Director Denner moved to approve the recommendation as presented. Director Ayers seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, and Ayers. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens annual evaluation will be held at the end of the Regular June meeting in a closed session.

Next regular meeting will be Monday, June 20, 2022, at 6:30 pm.

Director Denner moved to adjourn at 8:18pm. Director Ayers seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, A. Schwickerath, Matthews, and Ayers. Nays: none.

Monthly Bills April, 2022

General Fund (10) Vendor Name

Vendor Name	Amount	vendor Name	Amount
AFLAC	90.27	NHMU Fiber	300.00
Ag Vantage FS	6,136.98	Matthews, Jay	150.00
Amazon Capital Services	7,211.54	Mercy Medical Center	4,375.00
Apple Inc.	32.94	Mick Gage Plumbing	370.00
Babcock, Kathryn	66.30	Mohawk Electric	101.40
Black Hills Energy	11,397.11	NAPA Auto Parts	12.99
Blackhawk Automatic Sprinkler	352.50	New Hampton Auto Body	835.00
Bodensteiner Implement Company	749.99	Office World	1,786.04
Casey's Business Account	93.43	Pitney Bowes Inc	246.48
Chickasaw Chassis	42.50	Presto-X	1,050.00
City Laundering Co.	1,424.28	Principal Life Insurance Company	810.11
City of New Hampton	11,142.88	Quilter's Window	154.03
Decorah Community School District	10,008.00	Rieman Music, Inc	23.38
Dollar General Charged Sales	29.00	Riverside Insights	79.85
Dollar Tree	46.25	Rockford Fossil Park	60.00
EH Electric, L.L.C.	1,794.97	Roethler, Christy	35.00
Eichenberger, Miranda	15.96	Saunders, Stephen	90.00
Fareway	2,614.57	Schmitt, April	27.50
Five Star Cooperative	8,021.20	School Administrators of Iowa	1,104.00
Fritcher, Katie	978.12	Schueth Ace Hardware	3,184.79
Grainger	764.34	Schwickerath, Laura	93.56
Hanson Tire Service	25.00	Stanton Electric	796.57
Herff Jones, Inc.	27.96	Sweets by Keke, LLC	348.00
Huber's	17.83	Swisher & Cohrt, P.L.C.	148.00
Interstate All Battery Center	25.50	thyssenkrupp Elevator Corporation	169.38
Iowa Communications Network	54.35	Timberline Billing Service LLC	3,826.75
Iowa Department of Education	1,300.00	Turkey Valley Community School	5,401.89
Iowa Department of Human Services	22,160.19	University of Northern Iowa	359.00
Iowa Division of Criminal	300.00	Vern Laures Chev-Buick	529.51
Investigation J.W. Pepper & Son Inc.	291.99	Visa	757.90
Jendro Sanitation Services Inc	1,069.55	Wagoner Bros. Repair	6,711.21
John Deere Financial	36.35	Washington National Ins. Co.	1,215.11
Johnson, Samantha	200.84	Waverly Shell-Rock School	10,076.00
Kwik Star	4,583.92	Weber Paper Company - Division of Capital Sanitary	661.63
L & R Manufacturing, LLC	212.00	West Music Company	402.90
Madison National Life Insurance	1,877.18	WEX BANK	506.78
MARCO	198.44	Wilson Restaurant Supply Inc.	1,422.10
Martin Bros. Distributing	2,564.33	Windstream	2,002.39
New Hampton Tribune	119.04	Ziegler CAT	187.65
		Fund Total:	\$ 148,489.50
Debt Service	(40)		,,
Ahlers & Cooney, P.C.	705.00	Capital Projects	(33)
		CCI Solutions	13,216.15
	\$	CDW Government, Inc.	2,660.40
Fund Total:	705.00		
		DB Acoustics Incorporated	12,155.00
Physical Plant & Equipment	(36)	Nolt's Midwest Produce Supplies	9,374.19
Marco, Inc.	1,546.39	Northern Cedar Service	424.00
		Riverside Feeds, LLC	1,000.00
	\$	Fund	
Fund Total:	1,546.39	Total:	\$ 38,829.74

Attest: May 16, 2022	
Jay Matthews Board President	Christy Roethler Board Secretary