## **Board Proceedings**

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in regular session, Monday, August 15, 2016 in the High School Media Center. President Rosonke called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm with directors Denner, Schwickerath, Matthews, Baltes, Superintendent Jurrens, and Board Secretary Ayers present.

Director Matthews moved to approve the agenda. Director Baltes seconded the motion. Ayes: Schwickerath, Denner, Baltes, Matthews, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Director Baltes moved to approve the consent agenda items: minutes of the July 18, 2016 regular session. Approve the July 2016 monthly financial report, and the August 2016 bill listing. Accept the resignation of Michelle Nystel (STAR Mentor). Approve the first reading of Board Policies 800 (Objectives of Buildings & Sites), 801 (Site Acquisition and Building Construction), 801.1 (Buildings & Sites Long Range Planning), 801.2 (Buildings & Sites Surveys), 801.3 (Educational Specifications for Buildings & Sites), 801.4 (Selection of an Architect), 801.5 (Site Acquisition), 801.6 (Bids and Awards for Construction Contracts), 801.7 (Financing Sites and Construction), 801.8 (Supervision of Construction), 802 (Maintenance, Operation and Management), 802.1 (Maintenance Schedule), 802.2 (Requests for Improvements), 802.3 (Emergency Repairs), 802.4 (Fixed Assets Management System), 802.4R1 (Fixed Assets Management System Regulation), 802.4R2 (Fixed Assets Management System Definitions), 802.5 (Buildings & Sites Adaptation for Persons with Disabilities), 802.6 (Parking), 802.7 (Vandalism), 802.8 (Energy Conservation), 803 (Selling and Leasing), 803.1 (Disposition of Obsolete Equipment), 803.2 (Lease, Sale or Disposal of School District Buildings & Sites), and 803.3 (Vacant Facilities). Approve student teaching agreement with UNI. Director Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, Baltes, Denner, Schwickerath, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Director Baltes moved to approve student handbooks for FY 17. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Schwickerath, Matthews, Denner, Baltes, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Director Matthews moved to appoint Jordan Holthaus as student board member. Director Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Baltes, Denner, Schwickerath, Matthews, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to approve the attendance of foreign exchange students. Director Baltes seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, Schwickerath, Baltes, Denner, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Director Matthews moved to purchase two classrooms of IPads for the elementary. Director Baltes seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, Schwickerath, Baltes, Matthews, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to accept the fuel bid of Five Star Co-Op. Director Matthews seconded the motion. Ayes: Schwickerath, Baltes, Matthews, Denner, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to approve the food service agreement with Head Start. Director Baltes seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, Schwickerath, Baltes, Denner, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Director Baltes moved to dispose of excess desks and other items. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, Schwickerath, Denner, Baltes, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Director Matthews moved to hold a closed session per Iowa 21.5 (1.) A governmental body may hold a closed session only by affirmative public vote of either two-thirds of the members of the body or all of the members present at the meeting. A governmental body may hold a closed session only to the extent a closed session is necessary for any of the following reasons: (c.) To discuss strategy with counsel in matters that are presently in litigation or where litigation is imminent where its disclosure would be likely to prejudice or disadvantage the position of the governmental body in that litigation. Director Schwickerath seconded the motion. Roll Call Vote: Denner (aye), Matthews (aye), Rosonke (aye), Baltes (aye), Schwickerath (aye).

The board entered closed session at 7:09 pm.

The board returned from closed session at 7:52 pm.

Director Denner moved to adjourn at 7:52 pm. Director Matthews seconded the motion. Ayes: Schwickerath, Baltes, Matthews, Denner, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

## Monthly Bills July 2016 General Fund (10)

Vendor Name	Amount	Vendor Name	Amount
Aegerter, Lisa	450.00	Nasco	1,724.17
Amazon	7,488.35	New Hampton Electric	287.42
Apple Computer Inc.	8,093.00	New Hampton Tribune	172.00
Black Hills Energy	256.63	Oriental Trading Company	98.86
Bruch, Sheryl	37.44	Pagel, Dennis	36.10
Carolina Biological Supply	8,583.51	Pete, Heidi	1,148.16
CARQUEST OF NEW HAMPTON	42.03	Pitsco Education	658.85
Carson-Dellosa Publishing Co.	40.91	Princeton Health Press	935.00
CENGAGE Learning	5,021.50	Principal Life Insurance Company	69.20
Chemsearch	1,850.00	Quality Inn Suites & Event Center Des Moines	1,172.66
Chickasaw Wellness Complex	500.00	Rapid Printers	527.00
City Laundering Co.	381.20	Really Good Stuff	709.59
City of New Hampton	10,698.00	Renaissance Learning, Inc.	2,087.00
Committee for Children	2,698.00	Resources for Reading, Inc.	82.77
Curriculum Associates, Inc.	670.88	Ricoh USA, INC	14.68
Demco	913.99	Riverside Technologies	2,835.00
Discount School Supply	459.99	Robinson Telecommunications	160.00
Edgar, Nancy	29.67	Scholastic Inc.	904.32
Fire Mountain Gems and Beads, Inc	63.69	School Administrators of Iowa	700.00
Five Star Cooperative	693.97	School Health Corporation	1,128.91
Flinn Scientific Inc.	6,203.36	School Specialty	7,593.10
Follett School Solutions, Inc	3,098.11	Schoolboardnet.llc	2,360.00
Geerts Plumbing & Heating	1,336.96	Schoology	5,000.00
Gilbert, Jennifer	50.00	Schueth Ace Hardware	896.73
Hawkeye Alarm & Signal Co	250.00	Schumacher Elevator Company	3,252.22
Heartland AEA 11	120.00	Screen Print To Go	781.08
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing	4,018.20	Sherwin-Williams Co.	2,700.00
Instrumentalist Awards	21.00	Superior Welding Supply	6.20
Iowa Assoc. of School Business Officials	175.00	Swisher & Cohrt, P.L.C.	210.00
Iowa Division of Labor Services	480.00	Teacher Created Resources	29.95
IXL Learning	2,100.00	Teacher Direct	27.75
Jendro Sanitation Services Inc	804.00	Teacher Innovations	129.60
K & W Motors	2,120.00	Teacher's Discovery	107.04
Kwik Star	310.92	Throndson, Stefanie	22.00
Lakeshore Learning Materials	557.66	Timberline Billing Service LLC	195.37
Lexia Learning Systems, LLC	9,900.00	Trend Enterprises	17.93
Madison National Life Insurance	263.34	United States Cellular	39.90
MakeMusic!	536.00	Vernier Software	205.00
MARCO	107.14	Visa	551.47
McDonald, Cory	43.68	Vista Higher Learning	15,120.05
McGraw Hill School Education Holdings LLC	2,918.04	Wagoner Bros. Repair	8,382.26
Mettner, Jim	150.00	Ward's Natural Science	174.48
Mick Gage Plumbing	1,729.09	West Music Company	165.00
Midwest Computer Products, Inc	568.00	WEX BANK	122.39

Moss Enterprises		7,765.00	Windstream		1,821.58
NAAE, Inc		700.00			
				Fund Total:	160,661.05
	Capital Projects	(33)		PPEL	(36)
	oupliul i rojecto	(00)	K & W Motors		10,395.48
Amazon		1,495.18	Marco, Inc.		1,209.09
Geerts Plumbing & Heating		50,000.00		Fund Total:	11,604.57
New Hampton Electric		4,425.56			
Reicherts Carpentry		7,000.00			
Software Unlimited, Inc.		3,824.54		Management	(22)
Stanton Electric		2,485.05	CoSystems	ū	500.00
Zephyr Aluminum Products		81,268.00			
	Fund Total:	150,498.33		Fund Total:	500.00

Attest: September 19, 2016

Joe Rosonke

**Board President** 

Bob Ayers

**Board Secretary** 

Bob ayers