Board Proceedings

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in regular session, Monday, January 16, 2023, in the High School Media Center. President Matthews called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm with Directors A. Schwickerath, N. Schwickerath, Denner, Superintendent Jurrens, and Board Secretary Roethler present. Director Ayers was absent.

Director Denner moved to approve the agenda. Director N. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to approve the consent agenda items. Approve minutes of the December 19, 2022, regular session. Approve the December monthly financial report and the January 2023 bill listing. Accept the resignations of Bill Glenn (High School Business & High School Boys Golf Coach), James Russ (High School Vocational Agriculture), Sandra Russ (High School Special Education), and Linda Tiemessen (Nurse). These resignations will take place at the end of the 2022-2023 school year. Director N. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Old Business

Superintendent Jurrens presented the latest drawing from the engineer on the parking lot. Director N. Schwickerath moved to put the parking lot project out for bids and set the public hearing on the parking lot for February 20, 2023, at 6:30 p.m. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director A. Schwickerath moved to approve the NEIC Agreement with Waverly. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

New Business

Director Denner moved to approve Open Campus for Junior and Seniors in college classes during 1st and 8th hour. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens presented information on raising the admission fees by \$1.00 to be in comparison with the rest of the conference for events starting in the 2023-2024 school year. This would bring the admission fees to \$6.00 for adults and \$4.00 for students. Director Denner moved to approve the \$1.00 increase. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to approve the quote from Dave Randal for \$110,000.00 for brick repair on the downtown building this summer. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: Denner.

Superintendent Jurrens presented information on the 2023-2024 At-Risk/Dropout Prevention Plan. Director N. Schwickerath move to approve the 2023-2024 At-Risk/Dropout Prevention Plan. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

After discussion Director N. Schwickerath moved to approve the spending authority of \$338,776.00 in MSA for At-Risk/Drop Out Prevention. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to approve that the Board of Directors of the New Hampton Community School District approve the application to School Budget Review Committee in the amount of \$1,955.39 for special education administrative costs associated with the Lied Center Consortium program for the 2023-2025 school year. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to approve a letter being sent to the state legislatures on behalf of the board stating that public funds to private schools should have the same rules and regulations as public schools. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to appoint Director Denner to the Chickasaw County Conference Board. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to hold a closed Session for Superintendent's mid-year evaluation per Iowa Code Chapter 21.5(l)(i) a school board may enter closed session "To evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when closed session is necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session" Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Tim Denner – yes, Adam Schwickerath – yes, Jay Matthews – yes, and Nate Schwickerath – yes. The board entered closed session at 8:19 p.m.

Director Denner moved to come out of closed session at 8:48 pm. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Tim Denner – yes, Adam Schwickerath – yes, Jay Matthews – yes and Nate Schwickerath - yes.

Next regular meeting will be Monday, February 20, 2023, at 6:30 pm.

Director Denner moved to adjourn at 8:49 pm. Director N. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, A. Schwickerath, Denner, and N. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Attest: January 16, 2023	
Jay Matthews	Christy Roethler
Board President	Board Secretary