Board Proceedings

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in regular session, Monday, November 11, 2013 in the High School Media Center. President Rasmussen called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm with directors Ewert, Rosonke, Baltes, Denner, Superintendent Jurrens, and Board Secretary Ayers.

Director Baltes moved to approve the agenda. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Rosonke, Denner, Baltes, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Baltes moved to approve the consent agenda items: minutes of the October, 2013 regular session and the November 5, 2013 work session. Approve the October 2013 monthly financial report and the November 2013 bill listing. Approve Cody Iverson and Rich Kriener as volunteer coaches. Director Denner seconded the motion: Ayes: Rosonke, Ewert, Denner, Baltes, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Rosonke moved to amend the agenda by moving item IX c (new business – fund raisers) be moved to precede item V. Director Ewert seconded the motion. Ayes: Baltes, Denner, Ewert, Rosonke, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Students from Karen Kayser-Kemp's English class requested permission from the board to participate in several fund raisers. Clarissa Lechtenberg, Austin Peterson, and Krysha Sheber asked permission to have popcorn sales after school to raise money for Relay for Life. Ryan Kriener, Tyler Wood, Brogan Rosonke, and Matt Mulford will be selling Chickasaw monogramed athletic socks to students to raise money for the Hoops Club. Tyler Shatek, Connor Cleveland, Trevor Ambrose, and Alex Heying will be hosting a bean bag tournament to raise money for a new stereo system for the weight room. Director Denner moved to approve the fund raisers. Director Rosonke seconded the motion. Ayes: Baltes, Ewert, Rosonke, Denner, and Rasmussen. Nays: None.

After discussion of board policies 100 (Legal Status of the School District), 101 (Educational Philosophy of the School District), 101.1 (Fiscal Management), 102, (School District Instructional Organization), 103 (Equal Educational Opportunity), 103.E1 (Section 504 Notice of Nondiscrimination), 103.E2 (Grievance Form for Complaints of Discrimination or Non-Compliance with Federal or State Regulations Requiring Non-Discrimination), 103.E3 (Grievance Documentation), 103.E4 (Section 504 Student and Parental Rights), 103 E5 (Anti-Bullying/Harassment Policy), 103.R1 (Grievance Procedure), 104 (The People and Their School District Long-Range Needs Assessment), and 105.R1 (Long Range Needs Assessment Regulation) director Rosonke moved to approve the second reading of the policies. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Baltes, Denner, Rosonke, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens presented an update on the Teacher Leadership Compensation Program and Application Process.

Superintendent Jurrens presented the snow bids for 2013. There were five bid solicitations sent out and two respondents, Lentz Construction and Steve Smith. Steve Smith had the low bid (\$50.00 per hour for pickup and snowblade). Director Denner moved to accept the bid of Steve Smith pending delivery of liability insurance coverage.

Director Denner moved to request \$62,410.00 allowable growth from the School Budget Review Committee for 10.4 FTE students who have open-enrolled out of our district, but were not on our count last year. Director Ewert seconded the motion. Ayes: Rosonke, Baltes, Ewert, Denner, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Ewert moved to request \$2,693.00 allowable growth from the School Budget Review Committee for Limited English Proficiency students who have been served four years but are still not proficient in English and still need assistance in learning English. Director Rosonke seconded the motion. Ayes: Baltes, Denner, Rosonke, Ewert, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Denner moved to approve Kaitlyn Deers, Jessica Zeien, and Isabella Snyder, to graduate at the end of the first semester. Students will receive diplomas in May 2014 from New Hampton High School if they complete the required course work. Director Rosonke seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Baltes, Rosonke, Denner, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

The next regularly scheduled meeting will be December 9, 2013 at 5:30 pm.

Director Rosonke moved to adjourn at 7:42 pm. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Baltes, Ewert, Denner, Rosonke, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Monthly Bills November 2013						
Vendor Name	Amount	Vendor Name	Amount			
1st Class Lighting	1,209.60	Mohawk Electric	321.00			
Advanced Systems	315.37	Multisensory Learning Associates	193.76			
AE Connections	205.00	NAPA Auto Parts	21.03			
Ag-Land Implement, Inc.	1,793.00	New Hampton Electric	197.96			
Amazon	2,173.05	New Hampton Tribune	122.86			

American Time & Signal	721.75	Northeast Iowa Comm. College	444.50
Ankeny Community School District	306.09	Office World	143.50
Apple Computer Inc.	5,000.00	Olson, Kim	25.00
Ball Clinic of Chiropractic	50.00	Premier Agendas, Inc.	1,222.76
Black Hills Energy	74.62	Principal Life Insurance Company	1,124.71
Bodensteiner Implement Company	25.04	ProBuild - New Hampton	152.21
Brown & Saenger	71.12	PSAT/NMSQT	154.00
C. H. McGuiness Company	478.00	R & R Welding	46.01
Charles City Comm School	2,850.48	Riceville Community Schools	3,000.50
Chickasaw County Auditor	473.39	Ricoh USA, INC	944.15
Chickasaw Wellness Complex	500.00	Rieman Music	2,063.73
City of New Hampton	349.49	Riley's Inc.	1,587.43
Clayton Ridge Community School District	1,500.25	Rodriguez, Maria	35.00
Decker, Inc	40.31	Rosonke, Bob	252.00
Decorah Community School District	9,749.40	Sandy's Sign Shop	373.50
Dungey's Furniture	34.00	Scholastic, Inc.	181.28
EF Foundation	110.00	School Administrators of Iowa	50.00
Fareway	147.14	School Bus Sales	58.20
Five Star Cooperative	12,030.59	Schueth Ace Hardware	308.66
Geerts Plumbing & Heating	15.76	Screen Print To Go	40.00
Grainger	114.65	Sherwin-Williams Co.	16.48
Hanson Tire Service	40.00	Shopko	18.76
Howard Winneshiek Comm School	10,501.75	Software Unlimited, Inc.	217.67
Huinker, Bob	180.00	South Winneshiek Comm. School	1,500.25
Iowa Assoc. of School Boards	800.00	Superior Lumber, Inc.	364.08
Iowa Department of Human Services	9,308.32	Superior Welding Supply	722.18
Jendro Sanitation Services Inc	767.00	Swisher & Cohrt, P.L.C.	386.26
John Deere Financial	5.98	Team Laboratory Chemical Corp.	2,889.00
K & W Motors	6,136.23	Timberline Billing Service LLC	663.00
Kepharts Music Center	628.44	Townsend Press Book Center	16.00
Keystone Area Education	34.00	Turkey Valley Community School	13,502.25
Kwik Star	7,086.75	United Parcel Service	16.68
L & R Manufacturing, LLC	58.39	Vern Laures Chev-Buick	667.10
MakeMusic!	88.00	Visa	331.03
MARCO	232.06	Wagoner Bros. Repair	2,222.79
Marv & Zip's Repair, Inc.	197.52	Washburn Laundry & Drycleaining Equipment	555.00
Mercy Medical Center	60.00	Weber Paper Company	94.40
Mick Gage Plumbing	70.00	WEX BANK	370.67
Midwest Group Benefits, Inc.	471.75	Windstream	779.64
Midwest Technology Products	213.84		
MobyMax	79.00	Fund Total:	115,694.12

Management	(22)	Capital Projects	(33)
Vendor Name	Amount	Vendor Name	Amount
EMC Insurance Companies	47.59	D. Randall Construction, L.L.C.	37,420.89
Iowa Workforce Development	492.00	Heartland Technology Solutions	2,912.50
		Power Lift	59,410.03
Fund Total:	539.59	Pro-Vision Video System	4,715.04
		Resilite Sports Products	5,835.00
Debt	(40)		
Vendor Name	Amount		
Ahlers and Compnay	7,112.49	Fund Total:	110,293.46

Attest: December 9, 2013