Board Proceedings

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in regular session, Monday, June 9, 2014 in the High School Cafeteria. President Rasmussen called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm with directors Ewert, Denner, Rosonke, Baltes, Superintendent Jurrens, and Board Secretary Ayers.

Director Rosonke moved to approve the agenda. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Rosonke, Ewert, Baltes, Denner, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Director Ewert moved to approve the consent agenda items: minutes of the May 12, 2014 regular session, the May 19, 2014 special meeting, and the June 2, 2014 special meeting. Approve the May 2014 monthly financial report and the June 2014 bill listing. Approve Kathy Marth (Special Education) and Randy Nosbisch (.25 Vo-AG). Director Baltes seconded the motion. Ayes: Rosonke, Denner, Baltes, Ewert, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

After discussion of Board Policies 606.3 (Homework), 606.4 (School Ceremonies and Observances), 606.5 (Animals in the Classroom), 606.6 (Student Production of Materials and Services), 606.7 (Student Field Trips and Excursions), 606.8 (School Assembly), 606.9 (Insufficient Classroom Space), 606.10 (Early Release for Seniors), 607 (Instructional Services), 607.1 (Student Guidance and Counseling Program), 607.2 ()Student Health Services), 607.3 (Musical Instrument Display Night), and 605.6E1 (Internet Access Permission Letter to Parents) director Denner moved to approve the second reading. Director Ewert seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, Rosonke, Ewert, Baltes, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens informed the board that we published \$10.58 as our tax rate. The Department of Management informed the district that our tax rate will be reduced by four to six cents because of audit adjustments for our student count.

Superintendent Jurrens recommended the board to approve the District's membership with the Iowa Association of School Boards, and the membership with the Iowa School Finance Information Services. The district uses both of these associations for guidance. Following the discussion the importance of the information from both services are needed, director Denner moved to approve the membership with the Iowa Association of School Boards and the Iowa School Finance Information Services. Director Rosonke seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Baltes, Rosonke, Denner, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens presented a request for the replacement of the High School Media Center furniture with a cost of \$24,000.00. After discussion director Ewert moved to purchase the furniture. Director Baltes seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, Rosonke, Baltes, Ewert, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens updated the Board on the sharing agreement with Turkey Valley. Superintendent Jurrens had a meeting with the interim superintendent and members of their staff. Turkey Valley may only need .20 time of the maintenance director and the transportation director. Jurrens asked the board to approve making the change to .20 shared times for each position if Turkey Valley determines that will best meet their needs. Director Rosonke moved to give permission to Jurrens to adjust sharing agreement with Turkey Valley as needed. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Baltes, Denner, Rosonke, and Rasmussen. Nays: None.

Superintendent Jurrens requested the board approve a maintenance director position. Jurrens explained that as the district moves to one building, it wouldn't make sense to have two head custodians. In addition, the board has approved the sharing of a maintenance director with Turkey Valley. This position will be pending the sharing agreement being approved by both districts. Jurrens will advertise internally first and salary will be based on experience. Director Baltes moved to approve a maintenance director position. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Rosonke, Denner, Baltes, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens requested the board to approve a year end meeting to approve bills for payment. Jurrens reported that Tom and Bob met and paid the year end bills last year. If the board is comfortable with that, we can use the same procedure this year. The board would be authorizing Tom to approve the monthly bills for the end of the fiscal year. The board will formally approve the bills in July, but this procedure will allow payments to take place this year. Director Rosonke moved to approve the year end bills on June 30, 2014, with President Rasmussen approving the payments. Director Ewert seconded the motion. Ayes: Baltes, Denner, Ewert, Rosonke, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens presented an update on the building project and the KIDS Committee and their plans for Heartland Days.

Superintendent Jurrens requested a closed session to conduct his evaluation per Iowa Code Chapter 21.5(1)(i) "To evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session." Roll call vote: Rasmussen; yes, Rosonke; yes, Ewert; yes, Denner; yes, and Baltes; yes. The Board entered closed session at 7:20 pm June 9, 2014.

The board returned from closed session at 8:13 pm June 9, 2014.

The next regularly scheduled meeting will be July 14, 2014 at 6:30 pm.

Director Baltes moved to adjourn at 8:14 pm. Director Rosonke seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, Ewert, Rosonke, Baltes, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

Monthly Bills June 2014 General Fund (10)

Ceneral Fund (10)			
Vendor Name	<u>Amount</u>	Vendor Name	<u>Amount</u>
Amazon	7.39	MARCO	613.96
Area Education Agency 267	281.00	Mason City Foundation	24.00
Black Hills Energy	2614.54	Mercy Medical Center	271.01
Burgart, Linda	378.41	Mick Gage Plumbing	222.38
C. H. McGuiness Company	132.91	Midwest Electronic Recovery	60.00
Cannon, Sherry	11.55	NAPA Auto Parts	77.98
Carolina Biological Supply	14.20	New Hampton Auto Body	89.89
CARQUEST OF NEW HAMPTON	7.02	Northern Cedar Service	264.50
Chickasaw Wellness Complex	500.00	Pete, Heidi	1,550.25
Clayton Ridge Community School District	1,500.25	Peters, Jenny	136.11
Dave's Locksmith Service	329.00	Principal Life Insurance Company	1,105.71
Decker Sporting Good	19.50	Pub at the Pinicon, The	76.93
Decorah Community School District	12,906.23	Rapid Printers	263.00
Des Moines Stamp Mfg.	26.70	Reading Center, The	780.00
Fandel, Megan	266.76	Ricoh USA, INC	75.84
Fareway	296.29	Rieman Music, Inc	42.01
Five Star Cooperative	10,069.94	Riley's Inc.	15.38
Follett School Solutions, Inc	536.81	Rosonke, Bob	429.18
Fuller, Nancy	50.00	Sandy's Sign Shop	75.00
Geerts Plumbing & Heating	372.24	School Specialty	184.83
Hawkeye Alarm & Signal Co	182.77	Schueth Ace Hardware	367.50
Herff Jones, Inc.	15.18	Shopko Stores Operating Co., LLC	40.43
Interstate All Battery Center	295.63	Tenge, Rich	50.00
Iowa Assoc. of School Boards	225.00	Timberline Billing Service LLC	453.12
Iowa Communications Network	434.24	United Laboratories	1,714.93
Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation	1,000.00	Vern Laures Chev-Buick	114.83
Iowa Testing Program	6,573.82	Visa	2,545.27
Jendro Sanitation Services Inc	864.00	Weber Paper Company	101.50
Johnson, Patricia	60.00	WEX BANK	562.90
K & W Motors	1,586.28	Wilshire Jewelry	270.00
Key Carwash, Inc.	100.00	Windstream	779.55
Lunch Fund	653.35		
Lunch Fund	761.60	Fund Total:	56,430.60
Capital Projects	(33)	Debt Service	(40)
LS Supply & Rental	2,980.00	Lugan Caulana Baak	207,222.50
Vex Robotics, Inc.	1,061.48	Luana Savings Bank	231,222.00
TOX (CODORIOS, IIIO.	1,001.40		
Fund Total:	4,041.48	Fund Total:	207,222.50