## **Board Proceedings**

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in special session, Monday, December 3, 2012 in the High School Media Center. President Rasmussen called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm with directors Rosonke, Denner, Ewert, Superintendent Jurrens, and Board Secretary Ayers present.

Director Denner moved to approve the agenda as published. Director Rosonke seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Rosonke, Denner, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.

The Board discussed the needs and qualifications of a school board member that will be appointed to fill the seat vacated by the resignation of Terry Anderson. The Board is required to a replacement or hold a special election to fill the vacant seat. Potential appointees Damian Baltes and Ron Underwood were present at the meeting. Bob Smith also submitted information to the Board indicating his willingness to serve out the remaining term of Anderson's seat but was not present for the meeting. Each of these possible appointees submitted a letter of interest and responded to a questionnaire that was sent to them. The Board reviewed these responses and discussed the importance of the decisions the board makes for the school district. After reviewing the information presented to them by Baltes, Underwood, and Smith. Rasmussen asked each of them if they had any questions. The next board meeting will be December 10, 2012 and they will appoint the replacement board member at that time.

Director Rosonke moved to adjourn at 6:53 pm. Director Ewert seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, Ewert, Rosonke, and Rasmussen. Nays: none.