Board Proceedings

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in a Special session, Monday, February 5, 2018 in the High School Media Center. President Rosonke called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm with directors Matthews, Schwickerath, Baltes, Denner Superintendent Jurrens, and Board Secretary Ayers.

Director Denner moved to approve the agenda. Director Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, Baltes, Schwickerath, Denner, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

The student has requested the Board hold a closed session per Iowa Code 21.5 (1) A governmental body may hold a closed session only by affirmative public vote of either two-thirds of the members of the body or all of the members present at the meeting. A governmental body may hold a closed session only to the extent a closed session is necessary. Director Matthews moved to hold a closed session per Iowa Code 21.5(1)(a): a school board may enter closed session to review or discuss records which are required or authorized by state or federal law to be kept confidential or to be kept confidential as a condition for that governmental body's possession or continued receipt of federal funds. Director Baltes seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Matthews yes, Denner yes, Joe yes, Schwickerath yes, and Baltes yes.

The Board entered closed session at 6:37.

The board returned from closed session at 6:54 pm.

The board and student discussed at length the issues surrounding the student's appeal of the superintendent's decision in the student good conduct case. Following the lengthy and in depth discussion of the issues director Baltes moved to reverse the superintendent's decision and reinstate the student. Director Schwickerath seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Denner no, Matthews yes, Rosonke yes, Baltes yes, Schwickerath yes.

Director Matthews moved to adjourn at 7:53 pm. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Schwickerath, Baltes, Denner, Matthews, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Attest: February 19, 2018

Joe Rosonke Board President Bob Ayers Board Secretary