Board Proceedings

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in a special joint session with Turkey Valley, Thursday, February 6, 2025, at 3:00 p.m. in High School Media Center. President Matthews called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. with Directors A. Schwickerath, N. Schwickerath, Denner and Board Secretary Roethler present.

Director Denner moved to approve the agenda. Director N. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, N. Schwickerath, Denner and A. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to approve the MOU with Buena Vista University for TRPA 2.0 Apprenticeship. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Matthews, N. Schwickerath, Denner and A. Schwickerath. Nays: none.

Set the special board meeting for February 10, 2025, at 6:30pm to appoint a School Board Member.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to go into closed session Per Iowa Code Chapter 21.5(l)(i) a school board may enter closed session "To evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when closed session is necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session." Director Denner seconded the motion. Roll Call Vote: A. Schwickerath – Yes, Denner – Yes, N. Schwickerath – Yes and Director Matthews - Yes. The Board entered the closed session at 3:03pm.

Director Denner moved to come out of closed session at 9:39pm. Director N. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Roll Call Vote: A. Schwickerath – Yes, Denner – Yes, N. Schwickerath – Yes and Director Matthews – Yes.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to make the offer to the preferred candidate. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: A. Schwickerath, Matthews, N. Schwickerath and Denner. Nays: none.

Director N. Schwickerath moved to adjourn at 9:49pm. Director A. Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: A. Schwickerath, Matthews, N. Schwickerath and Denner. Nays: none.

Attest: February 6, 2025	
Jay Matthews Board President	Christy Roethler Board Secretary