## **Board Proceedings**

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in a Special session, Monday April 16, 2018 in joint session with Turkey Valley in the Turkey Valley Elementary Library. President Rosonke called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm with directors Matthews, Schwickerath, Baltes, Denner, Superintendent Jurrens, and Board Secretary Ayers.

Director Denner moved to approve the agenda. Director Matthews seconded the motion. Ayes: Schwickerath, Denner, Matthews, Baltes, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens informed both boards of his evaluation of the district sharing arrangement. This is the second year of sharing and he believes that the year has been successful. Both boards shared their evaluation as well and both boards believe the sharing has been successful. Dialog between New Hampton and Turkey Valley was positive.

April Schmitt shared her experience as a shared staff member for the last two years. She is half time at both districts. She stated that at times she is stressed working both places. She likes both districts, but doesn't know how long she will be able to handle two districts if her program continues to grow. After discussing her position the boards also talked about the growth in the music department. Justin Adam has been shared half time between both districts for three years. Turkey Valleys' band program has grown and they would like to have a 3/4 time person. The band program has also grown in New Hampton and the need a full time band director. It appears that finding a 3/4 time band person may be difficult. Jurrens suggested New Hampton could hire a full time band position and share that person 3/4 time with Turkey Valley and use the 1/4 time could be used in accompanying both schools. Both boards will continue to explore other areas of sharing between Turkey Valley and New Hampton. Follow the discussion Director Schwickerath moved to advertise for a full time band instructor for New Hampton that could be shared with Turkey Valley. Director Matthews seconded the motion. Ayes: Denner, Baltes, Matthews, Schwickerath, and Rosonke. Nays: None.

Director Baltes moved to pay additional bill listing from the April 10, 2018 board meeting. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Schwickerath, Matthews, Denner, Baltes, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Director Matthews moved to adjourn at 7:48 pm. Director Schwickerath seconded the motion. Ayes: Baltes, Denner, Schwickerath, Matthews, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Attest: May 21, 2018	
Joe Rosonke	Bob Ayers
Board President	Board Secretary