Board Proceedings

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in special session, Thursday, March 29, 2012 in the superintendent's office. President Anderson called the meeting to order at 6:32 pm with directors Rosonke, Rasmussen, Ewert, Denner, and Board Secretary Ayers present.

Director Ewert moved to approve the agenda as published. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Rosonke, Ewert, Denner, Rasmussen, and Anderson. Nays: none.

Board President Terry Anderson reviewed the process that the Board followed in selecting the new superintendent. President Anderson asked for a motion to approve Jay Jurrens as the superintendent for the 2012 - 2013 school year. Director Rosonke moved to appoint Jay Jurrens to the position of superintendent for the 2012 - 2013 school year with a salary of \$120,000.00. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Rasmussen, Ewert, Denner, Rosonke, and Anderson. Nays: none.

High school students Althea Throndson and Katie Hoffman performed their state speech selections for the Board.

The Middle School Brass Quintet, Damian Brummond, Sarah Gerber, Gavin Popken, Joel Kuehn, and Connor Hauser performed. Riley Burgart performed the "I have a Dream" selection and Jykob Marvin performed the "Gettysburg Address". Riley and Jakob performed these readings when they were in Washington DC. Middle School students Riley Burgart and Gabby Crooks performed a Woodwind Duet.

Elementary students Brayden Anderson, Jon Dreckman, Shelby McKimmy, Morgan Nuss, Allison Nuss, and Alexis Weydert performed a selection on their recorders. The group also sang the New Hampton fight song and and the elementary song.

Director Denner moved to adjourn at 7:09 pm. Director Rasmussen seconded the motion. Ayes: Ewert, Rosonke, Rasmussen, Denner, and Anderson. Nays: none.