Board Proceedings

The Board of Directors for the New Hampton Community School District met in a work session, Monday, October 19, 2015 in the High School Media Center. President Rosonke called the meeting to order at 6:30 pm with directors Baltes, Denner, Matthews, Schwickerath, Superintendent Jurrens, and Board Secretary Ayers present.

Director Baltes moved to approve the agenda. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Schwickerath, Matthews, Baltes, Denner, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Superintendent Jurrens presented information to the board about sharing superintendent with Turkey Valley School District for FY 2017. Superintendent Jurrens presented background information of the meetings that have been held with Turkey Valley. The first meeting took place in March of 2014. Subsequent meetings have been held over the last 18 months with superintendent Jurrens presenting information to the Turkey Valley School Board. Superintendent Jurrens indicated that his concern is the amount of time that may be need in the first year to serve Turkey Valley properly. He stated that he would need more time the first year and subsequent years would be less. The first year may require as much as half his time in Turkey Valley. Jurrens informed the Board that he believes that it could be beneficial to both districts.

The board questioned Jurrens about his schedule and if he would have the time and energy to make a sharing agreement wok. Jurrens responded that with the help of the administrative staff he believed that it would. The consensus of the board was to continue to explore the possibilities of sharing. The board asked Jurrens to inform them right away if he believed that sharing may be too stressful or take needed time away from New Hampton. The board was concerned that the work load may be too great and they did not want the sharing to become an issue with his tenure at New Hampton.

Superintendent Jurrens shared an example of a superintendent sharing agreement. The board reviewed the agreement and would act on it at the next regularly scheduled board meeting in November.

Director Schwickerath moved to adjourn at 7:12 pm. Director Denner seconded the motion. Ayes: Baltes, Matthews, Denner, Schwickerath, and Rosonke. Nays: none.

Attest: November 9, 2015

Joe Rosonke Board President Bob Ayers Board Secretary